Mild Mannered Consultant by Day – Slightly Less Mild Mannered Consultant by Night

Yesterday while attending a panel discussion on social media that our company NetSource Technologies was hosting, I had a few people who know me both in person and online tell me that online in the various social networking sites I am involved in that I am funny and outgoing.  Now if you know me in person, you may note I’m not exactly an extroverted person – or more to the point I’m not a “hi how ya’ doing” type.  Now if you get me talking on a topic I enjoy and have input on such as the work I do, I can be quite talkative, but I’m not going to walk up to a stranger in a crowded room and introduce myself.

As a result, social mixers and other in-person gatherings have never been a comfort zone for me.  This is a bit of a problem since my occupation is in sales.  I’ve always been more successful by nurturing leads that come from other sources instead of generating my own leads.  Let someone else do the “hi how ya’ doing” small talk and I can then show up with my knowledge base and get straight to consulting.

With online social networking, the funny thing is is that all the social inhibitions don’t exist.  I’m very comfortable talking to or introducing myself to most anyone on Twitter, LinkedIn, Biznik, Facebook and elsewhere.  In fact, it is easy and I’m more animated.

Now the funnier part is that I’m becoming more comfortable with in person social gatherings as what I’m doing online is spilling over into the real world.  And that brings me to the point of this blog post – what you do online can benefit you offline.  There is a genuine payoff to the efforts you put into it.  With the work I’m putting into social networking I’m generating more of my own leads, communicating better with clients and increasing my creditability with potential clients.

Hi, my name is Brent Haeseker, website consultant with NetSource Technologies and I’d like to talk to you about how I can help you grow your business online.  Call me today at 352-390-7747 or email me or stop by and say “hi” if you’re in the area.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

