Twitter Cured My Hiccups

I had a bad case of the hiccups this evening – couldn’t get rid of them and my chest was really starting to hurt (I don’t get them often, but when I do, they’re massive).  I was sitting at the computer and thought “I’ll send a tweet (post) out on Twitter about my hiccups”.  Sure enough, in less than 30 seconds I got a response from one of my followers saying to exhale slowly for 30 seconds and then inhale slowly.  I tried it and bingo, my hiccups where cured.

Online social networking really doesn’t have any limits as to what is possible.  My silly little hiccup situation made me think about the use of social networks as a research tool to discover new information.  Much like search engines 10 or even 15 years ago, most people didn’t really grasp the impact they would have on our lives.  Instead of going to the library when seeking information, we just “google it”.

The next phase in information research just might involve “twittering it”.  More and more high profile users are showing up everyday.  Depending on who you follow on Twitter, you can get business tips from CEO’s of Fortune 500 companies, inside scoops on new products from major manufacturers, investment advice from a famous book author or even dance steps from MC Hammer – yep, he’s on Twitter too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

